Shadowlark by Meagan Spooner Review


by Meagan Spooner

Reviewed by Emma Legge with daughter Sophie

Synopsis “They only come at night, when the Star fades”

Lark Ainsley escapes the Iron Wood to search for her brother, only to find herself captured and imprisoned in an underground metropolis.

Powerful magic protects the city of Lethe, providing sanctuary from the Empty Ones, monsters who hunger for human flesh.

But this magic comes at a terrible price, and the city lives in fear of their leader Prometheus and his gang of Eagles.

Danger lies in the shadows, and Lark must find the light . . .

Sophie was excited to receive this book as she’d heard from her friends that these books by Maegan Spooner were a good read. Skylark is the first in the collection, followed by Shadowlark. However she struggled with it from the start due to it being the second book and after three chapters she gave up. She said she just couldn’t work out who anyone was and said that you really need to read the first book to be able to keep up with this one. So, instead, my husband read it to her before bed but although they finished it, he too, said whilst seemingly a well written book, it was very confusing as it seemed like the second half of a story.

I would recommend these stories but you definitely need to read them in order.

A 3 out of 5 from us although feel it would be more if we had read SKYLARK first.

Rating: 3/5

EAN: 9780552565578 Published: 3 October 2013 RRP: £6.99

Available to buy from Random House here.

3 Star

Please follow us and share this post: