Tour of Duty The Complete Collection Review


Tour of Duty
The Complete Collection

Reviewed by David Savage

Starring: Terence Knox, Stephen Caffrey, Kevin Conroy
Certificate: 15
Running Time: 3126 minutes
Number of Discs: 15
Number of Episodes: 58
Format: DVD

Tour of Duty: The Complete Collection contains all 3 seasons (58 episodes on 15 DVD’s) of the American drama series about a platoon of soldiers fighting in the Vietnam war, a war in an unfamiliar land against a brutal enemy. The 12 month period American soldiers were required to serve in Vietnam was known as their Tour of Duty.

Starting from 1967 the series follows Bravo Company fighting in Vietnam and having to deal with the loss of life, losing their friends and their own beliefs about the war. As well as being a war film t also deals with subjects like grief, racism, drug abuse, politics and the rights and wrongs of war and having to fight a war that they cannot win.

Overall, Tour of Duty is a classic TV series about the harseness and brutality of war, the stress of jungle warfare and the troubles it can bring professionally and personally and how the relationships build between the soldiers who have to work as a team and depend on each other to stay alive.

It also has an excellent music score with some classic numbers and the iconic theme tune “Paint It Black” by the Rolling Stones.

A really enjoyable series. Action packed but also with light-hearted and humorous moments.

Rating: 4/5

Available to buy from Amazon here.

Please follow us and share this post: